Confessions of Classroom Texters

Confessions of Classroom Texters

by Douglas Brooks   

Just how clueless are you? It’s worse than you think.

Cell phones, once billed as a “necessity for student emergencies,” have now evolved into a major player in the game of “cat and mouse” between many students and their classroom teachers. I asked my university students to share school and classroom texting strategies crafted to fool some clueless educators.

I will never look at a hooded sweatshirt the same way again.

Just How Clueless?

Students know which teachers notice or care if they text in class. They know who is clueless. With some teachers you can text right under their noses. Other teachers force you to resort to more subtle strategies.
–Beth Hannah


Use a Flat Phone

Serious texters don’t have flip phones. They have flat phones. I did the usual “searching in my bag for a pen” routine mostly. Sometimes I would cross my legs and rest my phone on the lower leg, hidden from view from my teachers with the other leg. Then I would text with just one hand so it looked like I was just resting my hand in my lap.
–Megan Burch


Pen Lights That Signal a New Text

There are actually some pens that will light up when the student’s cell phone receives a signal (text, call, e-mail). The students then know that they have a text, and they can easily pull their phone out behind their textbook, in their desk, or go to the bathroom so they can reply to the text message. Students use these pens to not risk getting caught with their cell phones out just checking if they have a text.
–Martha Freeman


Ring Tones That Old Teachers Can’t Hear

Students can and have set their text and/or ring tone to a pitch that can’t be heard by older teachers. The tone can be sent as easily as a picture or a text through the phone. Students in class know when their phones go off or friend’s phones go off by the noise, but the teacher is oblivious. My younger siblings who were in middle school and high school at the time told me about this and tested it on me. I was 20 and I could still hear it, but our parents and Aunts and Uncles didn’t hear a thing.
–Abbey Holian


Total Silent or Vibrate

A must for serious texters is to have the phone on total silent or vibrate. This setting combined with a large sweatshirt was a good system. The student can still see their phone light up without the teacher seeing or hearing the phone. –Kim Steger

Clothing and Accessories

Hoodie:
I keep my phone in the front pocket of my hooded sweatshirt. It is accessible. It looks like my hands are in my front pocket, but I’m actually texting. I can also stick the screen part of my phone out of the pocket without it being obvious.
–Jesse King

Sweatshirt:
In high school, sweatshirts were part of our uniform. We would ball the sweatshirts up in our laps and tuck our phones into the folds. The sweatshirt blocked the teachers view from the front of the classrooms and we didn’t have to keep reaching into our bags. It looked like we were just resting our hands in our lap. If the teacher walked by it looked like your sweatshirt was just folded on your lap.
–Cassandra Hill

Hats:
Some of my guy friends would text inside of their baseball hats on the table. Honestly, I went to a school where we had computers, and we would e-mail constantly and instant message through g-mail. In my mind, this is going to start replacing texting during school because so many students have their laptops at school.
–Martha Freeman

Purses:
I found that you can text pretty easily under a table while in class. Girls can text while they act like they are looking for something in their purse/bag. They’ve memorized the buttons on their phone. Good luck catching that!
–Tyler Bruns

Strategy

My sister is 16 and an obsessive texter. Her phone rarely leaves her hand. She has the numbers and the letters on each button/key memorized so she can be completely looking at someone and still text her friends without even looking at what she is typing. She knows each button that well.  She uses her phone during study hall or lunch.  –Danielle Davis

Classroom Location and Seating

Our teacher sat on the right side of our room and we sat close to the left side. The student had his cell phone conveniently located in his left pocket. When our teacher wasn’t looking, he would pull his phone out.  Our teacher was never completely aware of what was going on. He almost always read a book when we were taking our tests, so it was easy to “text-cheat.”
–Kari Roberta


Location

I found that when students went to their lockers in between class, they were texting, pretending they were looking in their lockers. There were also a couple instances when I found girls talking on their phones in the bathroom. Cell phones were a big battle, but honestly I think it was just because there was little disciplinary action that followed when students were caught on them.
–Abigail Thomas

Eye Contact With the Teacher

I have friends who can maintain direct eye contact with a teacher and  conduct a text conversation the whole time.  –Jenna Schone
The Opposite Leg

I sometimes hold my phone next to my leg and make sure the teacher is on the opposite side of me than my phone. This way it looks like my hand is just resting at my side but I’m actually texting. This is more risky than the hooded sweatshirt strategy but it still works. The hardest part of any of this is keeping your eyes up so it isn’t obvious that you are texting.
–Jesse King


Using Thumbs

Students hide their phones behind a book and pretend they are reading.  They hold the book and text with their thumbs. In middle school, students could hide it with the desk if they have the ones with the cubby hole in them or with a flip top.
–Monica Head


Texting During Tests

I have actually observed a student texting during a quiz and having someone look up the answers and texting them back.  The teacher sat at her desk during every test.
–Kari Kattler

Use the Book

When reading in a text book, students simply put the book in front of the phone and text away.
–Brian Homan

The Whole Package

My sister will hide her phone in the pocket of her hoodie. Since she has the keys memorized she is able to just keep her hand in her pocket and type out the text. She waits for the teacher to turn to the board to write something before she looks at any messages she has received.
–Greg Croskey

Leave a Reply

